Gone ’til November.

Saturday was an important international meeting for the Orphanage Management Committee! Dee and Janis joined the usual group to interview a few applicants for staff positions at the Children’s Village and make a final draft of the Memorandum of Understanding between the UUNEI and UUPCC (the latter of which will hopefully take over international donation management). For the interviews, we spoke only briefly with the auntie and cook/helper candidates, but next weekend Nangroi and Janis will take the auntie candidates out to the S.O.S. Children’s Village to actually show them what they’d be doing as a mother. All in all, the meeting took about three and a half hours, and we got a lot accomplished.

The busy schedule continued with a trip to the local Baskin’ Robbins with Banjop, Jon, Sharmila, and Ms. MD (one of the teachers at Kong Barr Secondary) – a trip only slightly marred by a flat tire, impressively changed by the gentlemen – and then a surprise birthday party for Khlur. The high ice cream content of the evening was pretty satisfying.

This past week also marks an important day for Meghalayans: October 15th is considered the official last day of the monsoon. We may not get any rain at all until next May. I have to say, after four years in Pittsburgh, I’m looking forward to the dry season.

On an relatively unimportant note, I’m really sad that I’ve missed opening weekend of High School Musical 3. Really. Pretty verklempt.

Today begins the epic by-land journey to Nepal! If we’re really lucky, the road between Darjeeling and Kathmandu won’t be washed out. Regardless, Kharang, I’ll see you in November.

~ by cmskhublei on October 20, 2008.

One Response to “Gone ’til November.”

  1. You know, I have to tell you, I really enjoy this blog and the insight from everyone who participates. I find it to be refreshing and very informative. I wish there were more blogs like it. Anyway, I felt it was about time I posted, Ive spent most of my time here just lurking and reading, but today for some reason I just felt compelled to say this.

Leave a Reply

 
